The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced the final recognition criteria for Energy Star Most Efficient 2019. The program will recognize products from 14 different categories starting in 2019. Among these categories are residential windows.

The Most Efficient category will recognize products that save on energy costs. The details were recently highlighted in a webinar hosted by the EPA.

In order for a product to be certified as Most Efficient, it must first be an Energy Star recognized product. As for residential window specifications, the Most Efficient qualifications are as follows:

  • U-factor ≤ 0.20 in all Zones
  • Solar Heat Gain Coefficient (SHGC) in Northern Zone ≥ 0.20
  • SHGC in North-Central Zone ≤ 0.40
  • SHGC in South-Central and Southern Zones ≤ 0.25
  • North American Fenestration Standard/Specification (NAFS) Performance Grade ≥ 15

The EPA states that exact savings will vary by climate, house construction, and number and type of windows replaced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *