During this hotly contested election season, it’s a daily occurrence for organizations to endorse candidates, but it’s particularly newsworthy when a major association releases the first-ever list of capitol1officially approved candidates in its 74-year history.

Last week, the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) finalized its list of 137 congressional candidates that it thinks will help boost housing in the U.S. The association announced in September that it would be working with its state and local home builders associations to coordinate announcing the endorsements.

The list skews heavily Republican — 113 for the GOP vs. 24 for the Democrats.

“As housing goes, so goes the economy,” said NAHB chair Ed Brady, a home builder and developer from Bloomington, Ill. “This election could determine if the housing and economic recovery stays on track or veers off course. The incumbents and candidates from both political parties that NAHB will be endorsing have all exhibited a commitment to advance policies that will promote homeownership and rental housing opportunities for all Americans.”

Brady said NAHB took the unprecedented step to endorse candidates for the first time because Congress has failed to address the nation’s housing problems, even though housing accounts for 15 percent of the nation’s gross domestic product.

“The next Congress must focus on housing and tackle pressing issues that are holding back a more robust housing and economic recovery,” said Brady.

NAHB will be urging members of the next Congress to reform the regulatory process, protect the mortgage interest deduction and expand the Low Income Housing Tax Credit to boost production of affordable housing. NAHB is also urging the next Congress to enact comprehensive housing finance reform that safeguards the 30-year mortgage.

“Housing is critical to a strong and prosperous nation,” said Brady. “These policies will promote homeownership, provide rental housing opportunities and keep housing and the economy moving forward.”

While the congressional endorsement is a first for the association, it still does not endorse candidates for president.

Election Day is November 8.

Here is the list of NAHB endorsements for Congress

Alaska: Rep. Don Young (R); Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R).

Arizona: Rep. Martha McSally (R); Rep. Paul Gosar (R); Rep. David Schweikert (R); Rep. Trent Franks (R); Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D); Sen. John McCain (R).

California: Rep. David Valadao (R); Rep. Steve Knight (R); Rep. Paul Cook (R); Rep. Jim Costa (D); Rep. Doris Matsui (D); Rep. Jeff Denham (R); Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R); Rep. Darrell Issa (R); Rep. Brad Sherman (D); House Candidate Scott Jones (D); House Candidate Justin Fareed (R); Rep. Ken Calvert (R); Rep. Norma Torres (D); Rep. Mimi Walters (R).

Colorado: Rep. Scott Tipton (R); Rep. Ken Buck (R); Rep. Mike Coffman (R).

Connecticut: Rep. Jim Himes (D); Rep. Joe Courtney (D).

Georgia: Sen. Johnny Isakson (R).

Idaho: Rep. Mike Simpson (R); Rep. Raul Labrador (R); Sen. Mike Crapo (R).

Illinois: Rep. John Shimkus (R); Rep. Peter Roskam (R); Rep. Rodney Davis (R); Rep. Mike Bost (R); Rep. Robert Dold (R).

Indiana: House Candidate Trey Hollingsworth (R); Senate Candidate Todd Young (R); Rep. Jackie Walorski (R).

Iowa: Sen. Chuck Grassley (R); Rep. Rod Blum (R); Rep. David Young (R).

Kentucky: Rep. Andy Barr (R); Rep. Thomas Massie (R); Rep. Brett Guthrie (R); Rep. Hal Rogers (R).

Louisiana: Rep. Garret Graves (R); Rep. Steve Scalise (R).

Maine: Rep. Bruce Poliquin (R).

Massachusetts: Rep. Richard Neal (D); Rep. Michael Capuano (D); Rep. Bill Keating (D); Rep. Niki Tsongas (D).

Michigan: Rep. Mike Bishop (R); Rep. Fred Upton (R); Rep. Tim Walberg (R); House Candidate Paul Mitchell (R); House Candidate Jack Bergman (R).

Minnesota: Rep. Erik Paulsen (R).

Missouri: Sen. Roy Blunt (R); Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R); Rep. Sam Graves Jr. (R); Rep. Ann Wagner (R); Rep. Jason Smith (R); Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R); Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II (D); Rep. Billy Long (R).

Montana: Rep. Ryan Zinke (R).

Nebraska: Rep. Brad Ashford (D); Rep. Mark Amodei (R).

Nevada: Rep. Cresent Hardy (R); Senate Candidate Joe Heck (R).

New Hampshire: Rep. Frank Guinta (R); Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R).

New Mexico: Rep. Steve Pearce (R); Rep. Ben Ray Lujan (D).

New Jersey: Rep. Donald Norcross (D); Rep. Bill Pascrell (D); Rep. Chris Smith (R); Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R); Rep. Leonard J. Lance (R); Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R); Rep. Albio Sires (D).

New York: Rep. Elise Stefanik (R); Rep. Tom Reed (R); Rep. Joseph Crowley (D); Rep. Sean Maloney (D); Rep. John Katko (R).

North Carolina: Sen. Richard Burr (R) Rep. Robert Pittenger (R); Rep. Virginia Foxx (R); Rep. George Holding (R); Rep. Richard Hudson (R); Rep. Patrick McHenry (R); Rep. Walter Jones (R); Rep. Mark Meadows (R); Rep. David Rouzer (R); Rep. Mark Walker (R).

North Dakota: Rep. Kevin Cramer (R); Sen. John Hoeven (R).

Ohio: Rep. Pat Tiberi (R).

Oklahoma: Sen. James Lankford (R); Rep. Frank Lucas (R); Rep. Steve Russell (R); Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R).

Oregon: Rep. Greg Walden (R); Sen. Ron Wyden (D); Rep. Kurt Schrader (D).

Pennsylvania: Rep. Charlie Dent (R); Rep. Scott Perry (R); Rep. Ryan Costello (R); Rep. Pat Meehan (R); Sen. Pat Toomey (R).

South Dakota: Sen. John Thune (R) Rep. Kristi Noem (R).

Texas: House Candidate Jodey Arrington (R).

Utah: Rep. Chris Stewart (R); Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R); Rep. Mia Love (R); Rep. Rob Bishop (R).

Virginia: Rep. Barbara Comstock (R); Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R); House Candidate Scott Taylor (R).

Washington: Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R); Rep. Dan Newhouse (R); Rep. Derek Kilmer (D); Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R); Rep. Dave Reichert (R).

West Virginia: Rep. David B. McKinley (R); Rep. Evan Jenkins (R); Rep. Alex Mooney (R).

Wisconsin: Rep. Sean Duffy (R); Rep. Glenn Grothman (R); Rep. Ron Kind (D); Speaker Paul Ryan (R); Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R); House Candidate Mike Gallagher (R).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *