The National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA) elected its new leadership team on Wednesday at the ProDealer Industry Summit in Colorado Springs, Colo. The NLBMDA board of directors elected Scott Yates as the new chair of the association. Yates is president and general manager at Denver Lumber Company in Denver, Colo., and is replacing outgoing chair JD Saunders, president of Economy Lumber in Campbell, Calif.

“My company has always believed that we exceed value received over dues paid out by being a member of MSLBMDA and NLBMDA,” Yates said. “Many dealers are surprised when they find out that being a member of their regional association automatically makes them a NLBMDA member. The primary function of our associations has become to be our watchdog against local and federal government overreach via bad legislation and unnecessary regulations. Our challenge in this industry is getting the entire dealer base engaged in our mission. Local and federal governments move at a slow but invasive pace against the rights of business owners, and we must remain vigilant maintaining control of our own businesses.”

“Scott has been a lumber dealer for 42 years and has a tremendous amount of knowledge and expertise in the LBM industry said NLBMDA president and CEO Jonathan Paine. “He has consistently shown an unwavering commitment and passion to serving others. I am truly honored to have the opportunity to continue to work with Scott as we are both committed to moving the association forward as he becomes NLBMDA Chair. I also want to thank JD Saunders for his time, effort, and the advances we’ve made over the last year to give the association and our members a better foundation as we build on the improving economy around the country.”

In addition to Scott, the other members of the 2015-2016 NLBMDA executive committee are:

Chair-Elect: George Lester, Lester Group Inc., Martinsville, Va.;
Treasurer: Scott Engquist, Engquist Lumber, Harcourt, Iowa;
Manufacturers & Services Council Chair: Gary Nackers, Do it Best Corp, Ft. Wayne, Ind.;
Federated Association Executives Chair: Karen Baker, Oklahoma Lumbermen’s Association, Seminole, Okla.;
Immediate Past Chair: JD Saunders, Economy Lumber Co, Campbell, Calif., and;
President and CEO: Jonathan Paine, NLBMDA, Washington, D.C.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *