Fenestration Canada hosted a series of webinars recently that dive deeper into code changes that came with the 2010 North American Fenestration Standard (NAFS). The first in the three-part series was a review of recent Canadian building codes and standards changes.

“Typically the code is written every five years” said Jeff Baker, technical consultant for Fenestration Canada. He explained the 2010 code has been adopted in British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Nova Scotia, Yukon and the Northwest Territories with Ontario and British Columbia having written their own modified code.

The full list of the tests and prescriptive requirements in the 2010 NAFS code change.
The full list of the tests and prescriptive requirements in the 2010 NAFS code change.

According to the Baker, the 2010 code had one significant change that took place – the NAFS and its Canadian supplement.

The NAFS covers windows, doors and skylights and has prescriptive requirements and performance testing requirements, including testing of air leakage, water penetration and forced entry resistance among other things.

“This is the responsibility of the manufacturers – to make sure they are testing to all of these tests as part of the standards,” said Baker.

The performance grades of NAFS consists of four performance classes of products: R, LC, CW and AW. Performance grades are then based on the design, structural test and water penetration resistance test pressure.

“In all cases, you have to meet at least three of those requirements as well as anything else in the performance grade standard,” said Baker.

The Canadian supplement to NAFS required one more test and slightly stricter guidelines. They include:

  • Section 5.1
    • Insect screen serviceability test
    • 60 N force put in on outward direction
  • Section 5.2
    • Operating force requirement including the maximum force used to operate being more stringent than in the U.S.
  • Section 5.3
    • Water penetration resistance test pressure goes to 730Pa in Canada
  • Section 5.4
    • Air infiltration and exfiltration levels must be at A2 level

“You must test to the Canadian levels – you cannot stop [at the] U.S. levels,” in order to meet Canadian standards, said Baker.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *