Energy Star Updates its Recognition Criteria for Windows

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has updated its Energy Star Most Efficient 2014 and the proposed Energy Star Most Efficient 2015 recognition criteria for windows.

The proposed recognition criteria for 2015 was developed in consultation with the U.S. Department of Energy based on an analysis of currently certified Energy Star models, which indicates that for most categories, existing recognition criteria continue to reflect the “best of the best.” As a result, EPA proposes to extend the 2014 efficiency criteria into 2015 for residential windows.

While the summary states “no substantive changes” are proposed for the 2015 residential windows recognition criteria, as of January 2015, “products must be certified under Energy Star Version 6.0 including air leakage testing, installation instruction requirements and verification testing” in order to be eligible.

The recognition criteria, carried over from 2014, is as follows:

Residential Windows:

  • U-factor ≤ 0.20 in all Zones
  • SHGC in Northern Zone ≥ 0.20
  • SHGC in North-Central Zone ≤ 0.40
  • SHGC in South-Central and Southern Zones ≤ 0.25 North
  • American Fenestration Standard/Specification (NAFS) Performance Grade ≥ 15

Energy Star has asked stakeholders to provide written comments on these proposed requirements by no later than Thursday, September 11, 2014 to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *