The Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance (IGMA) board of directors has elected David Cooper of Guardian Industries Corp. as president for a two-year term.

Cooper brings to this position his in-depth, cross-functional fenestration industry experience that includes advanced IG systems such as vacuum insulating glass (VIG), high-performance glass coatings, IG/glazing sealants and spacer systems.

“IGMA has demonstrated world-class leadership as a technical advisor in IG certification and as an advocate for the insulating glass manufacturers and their suppliers in North America,” Cooper says. “Working at Guardian’s Science and Technology Center has provided me a great deal of leadership training, and I am honored to take over as president of IGMA. I look forward to serving the growing IGMA membership as well as the IG community.”

Cooper replaces outgoing president Ray Wakefield of Trulite Industries. The board thanks Wakefield for his contributions as president and his active participation at all levels of IGMA over the past 11 years.

Other board changes include election of Robert Gilles of All Weather Windows as vice president and Mark Hutchinson from Intigral as secretary/treasurer. Four IGMA members were elected to the board of directors: Scott Cardwell of AGC Flat Glass N. America, Helen Sanders of Sage Electrochromics, Frank Caporiccio of PPG Industries and Crystal Archibald of Kohltech International.

In addition, the board’s executive committee has created two new task groups. The first is led by Mike Burke of Edgetech, and is chartered with improving the focus on safety in the glass industry and recently broadcast a webinar on this subject.  The second, chaired by Jennifer Kempf of Dow Corning, will promote the value of IGMA to the IG industry.

The following board members were elected as committee chairs:

• Technical Services Committee chairman: Ray Wakefield, Trulite Industries;

• Technical Services Committee vice chairman: Robert Gilles, All Weather Windows;

• Education and Certification Committee chair: Helen Sanders, Sage Electrochromics; and

• Education and Certification Committee vice cair: Jim Krahn, Marvin Windows.

The board wishes to thank outgoing Chairs Tracy Rogers of Edgetech and Chris Barry of NSG for their service.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *